Happy New Year!

August 16, 2007

Well, not just yet. The Jewish new year, Rosh Hashana is on September 12th, less than a month from now, and I realized I need cards to send out to my customers. I’ve been thinking about this all day, and I realize I have to hurry, because if I want to have them printed written and mailed on time I better get going. I’ve set my eyes on some nice apple brads (apples go together with the new year here – they will make your year sweeter!), but I’m not sure yet how to combine them in a simple but memorable greeting.

Anyway, this isn’t what I was going to write about, I just wanted to share my beautiful collection of vintage greetings, which I just uploaded to Flickr. They’re all so naive and beautiful, and some just crack me up (the bride, the militaristic ones, and the ones with the dolls- what’s that got to do with the new year?). I think you’ll enjoy them, and you’re welcome to print and use them in your artwork, too.  Enjoy!

7 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. Lily Says:

    WOW, ThAnks!! Love them, and will be printing some soon!! I would love to see how your cards end up, I have a ton to make!!
    Take care

  2. Nili Says:

    I love this style of cards. I have a collection myself. i thought to decored my kids’ rooms with it. New year…already!!! didn’t the year just fly infront of us??
    Good luck with your cards amd dont forget to show the results,
    Nili:)

  3. Tamar Says:

    Oh my, what a treasure trove! You already know all about my love for these old cards (for many of the very reasons you mention in your post) so I will just say a huge THANK YOU for putting them all up in flickr! :)

  4. a. Says:

    Oh, I’ve been wrecking my brain for this year’s cards! And time flies and flies…you just reminded me of the time pressure of last year. ;) And all the squashed honey straws people told me about….


  5. Thanks! Is there any sort of copyright on them?

  6. Karen Says:

    What a magnificent looking collection Hagit. Thank you very much for the invitation to use them.

  7. milkcan Says:

    What a beautiul collection! I find it very difficult to find vintage art with a Jewish theme. How fantastic!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

