My first spread

September 4, 2006

I finished the first spread of my book of dreams, with pockets, and I’m so happy with it! I had no idea what it would look like in the end. First of all, I just folded the pockets (I have to fill them yet), then I just used my new acrylic paints and painted the pages (for the aqua, I combined white and turquoise, and I love the result). I played around with my transparency collages, dabbed some paint on the yellow page, and really loved it. I let it dry during the night, and this morning as I saw it, I remembered the Van Cleef & Arples ad with the girl (I love their ads!), and stuck it too. Last came Jolee’s daisy punchies (I love them, but I can’t help it – who makes them? they’re small embellished punch outs – somebody sits there piecing them by hand?!). I’m really excited about the result – it’s bright and dreamy and I really like it. Paints are lots of fun. I didn’t think I’d enjoy them, but as I use them, I keep thinking of how I need many more colors. I do enjoy the process, and I enjoy “learning” about the materials as I use them. One of the best things about these paints, for example, is that they’re transparent, so I can cover pages with them, and the text will show under. I really like how you can see the Hebrew text under the yellow color. Also, it’s fun writing on a painted page!

Leave a Reply

