Magazines

November 2, 2006

I just can’t get enough of them. I’ve always loved trashy glam magazines, but having discovered the world of crafting, I’ve switched to crafting magazines, and care less about the love life of Brad and Jolie. A few months ago I got me a 2-year subscription for Scrapbooks Etc. which I love. I can leaf through and read it for months. I never get bored with all the color and inspiration and stories in it! Pity I can’t participate in any of the “win an 8,000 dollar scrapbooking room” contests. Wouldn’t that be great?

I think magazines are a cultural thing. A “thing” we don’t have here in Israel. I understood this fully in my visit to Athens in June. Seeing all of their small kiosks overflowing with magazines, made me so jealous. They have every single magazine you can imagine, translated into Greek! Vogue, Bazaar, Cosmopolitan, Maison & Decoration, to name just a few. I was really amazed (putting my translator cap on for a sec: just think of all that fun work for translators!). In Israel the only translated magazine we have is Cosmopolitan (well, because we’re not talking about National Geographic-type magazines now, right?), and we have about 3-4 women’s magazines in Hebrew, which are both unexciting and very expensive. Besides, we don’t have the cultural element. I don’t know anyone who would admit to buying these magazines, and the only place I’ve seen people read them here are at the dentists’. I wonder why…hmmm… I want me a regular supply of glossy magazines with nice perfume scents to try, and all the paper crafting magazines I get!

Well, as of this week I have a 2-year subscription to Cloth Paper Scissors as well, and three Somerset Studio magazine back issues are making their way to my mailbox. I just can’t wait. I know you want to see my beautiful back issues, so you can peek here, here and here, and make sure you scroll down to see all the beautiful art work photos.

I tell you, the simplicity of one-click online shopping is going to kill me. Or make me completely broke. Real soon. Well, at least I’ll have lots of magazines to enjoy! 🙂

My next purchase, I can just see it coming… I just NEED this set of stamps below, by Julie Van Oosten (Stampington & Co.) – aren’t they gorgeous?

5 Responses to “Magazines”

  1. Ayelet Says:

    Oh no! Another magazine addict!! 🙂
    I’m addicted to them too, in any shape, color, form or subject. My 2 biggest embarrassments in life is my addiction to American women’s magazines (“family circle” and such) and my fondness for Martha Stewart..

    I think the biggest problems with magazines here is not that they’re not available but that they’re extremely expensive.. a normal magazine in the USA would cost 5-10$? and here the good ones are over 50 shekels.. you’d be better off buying a book in Stematsky’s discount section.

    So.. what’s “cloth paper scissors”? I get more and more curious about your stuff with every post you write..

  2. Inbal Says:

    I’ve been getting CPS for a while now and I flove it. I am now in the process of subscribing to Somerset and I’m doing everything I can to keep myself from buying some lovely stamp sheets…

  3. jerseytjej Says:

    OH, Hagit, the more I read about you the more I think we were separated at birth! I LoVE magazines and now that I am in Sweden they are so expensive! I just purchased the first 4 copies of CPS off ebay for 28.00 and it cost 9.50 for shipping but it was so worth it! The magazine is not available in Sweden, but I am buying myself a gift subscription because, well because…I NEED it!

  4. annie Says:

    i was just looking at the somerset studio magazine, and i might just get it soon. i can’t afford the subscription so i might buy it occasionally and save articles that appeal to me. i love magazines and i usually read fashion mags, but i love tearing them up for collage and saving articles and photos.

  5. audrey Says:

    I have an extreme addiction to craft magazines….i think i need help, lol. Right now CPS is my favorite mag…..it seems to cover everything. I love Somerset Studio also and was looking at the three that you choose to buy and guess what…i have two pieces in the September/October 2005 issue you ordered…let me know what you think of them :o) I also keep eyeing those Julie Van Oosten stamps also…i know i will cave in eventually :o)


Leave a Reply

