My altered book

November 21, 2006

My altered book for the round robin swap has to leave the nest (ha, ha) on Monday, so I sat down tonight to work on it. I can’t begin to tell you how much fun I had! A few days ago I saw MemrieMare’s gorgeous doll, and decided I want my book to be on envelopes too. Then I saw Ali Edward’s fantastic Thanksgiving book – although it doesn’t say anything about envelopes, they look like envelopes! – and I knew my book would be all envelopes. The next thing that came into my mind was “rustic”. I love that word, and I love the look, so why not? I was so fascinated by using the envelopes, that I decided I *must* use them not only as my pages, but also to fill them up. So I collaged my cover page, and filled 9 envelopes (we’re 10, I don’t get any surprises from me) with tiny surprises, ephemera, basically, and held everything together with a clip. This way each participant gets a small gift – isn’t that fun?! When I get my book back, I’ll bind it using a stick – I just LOVE the look of it – well, rustic…

So here are my surprise baggies:

And my book- you can see how fat it is, because the envelopes are filled in:

The stamped letters aren’t perfect, but art isn’t about perfection, right?
I had so much fun doing this, and now I’m just crossing my fingers that it comes back home in a few months, safe and sound and full of creativity and art.

5 Responses to “My altered book”

  1. Inbal Says:

    I love it! I should have joined the fun when I had the chance…lol

  2. jerseytjej Says:

    Now I am nervous! I have not started and I am so worried!!!! AAAGH!

  3. Ayelet Says:

    I agree with Inbal – I don’t have time to learn new skills and crafts now, but wow, this makes me wish that I did.
    I’m curious to see the outcome!

  4. snowbear Says:

    I just started a project so similar to this–we are all using paper bags for albums and filling the pockets with ephemera for each other.
    Yours looks lovely!


Leave a Reply

