Visual journals

February 20, 2007

I’m fascinated with the concept of visual journals, both as something to document my life, and to get the creative juices going. I started my own a few months ago, and I’m still working out what I want it to be like – is it just to practice a new technique? is it really a diary? does it have to have words? So far I’ve had entries of all types. I really want to be able to let my thoughts and creativity free in there, but I’m not there yet. It’s a bit unnatural to me. I’ve been gluing things down, painting a little, but not really daring to do much more. Maybe I’ll share a few pages sometime, but not today.

Today I want to show you a fabulous page by ART TEA LIFE. I just love the way you can see the process in which she chose the magazine page, cut it out, placed things differently, and then doodled, embellished, etc. Isn’t it great that she displays the whole process? Don’t you love blogs?! 🙂 ! I just love it, and I’m going to try to doodle and play more with mine!

3 Responses to “Visual journals”

  1. Spunk Says:

    Visual journals rock and are definitely a creative outlet.

  2. Hanna Says:

    I hope you get going with the play, just have fun and use different teqnices on each page. Collage over a whole page, paint watercolours on one page, write on the next one… and then mix your teqnices and add postcards, photos, tickets, quotes… just have fun! I’d love to see your pages when you are ready.

    take care!

  3. Tamar Says:

    I keep meaning to start keeping a nice journal with images and words myself. Can’t wait to see your progress shots like ART TEA LIFE when you are done!


Leave a Reply

