Journaling

July 8, 2007

I’ve been fascinated by art/visual journals for a long time, and have been keeping mine ever since November. I really enjoy the process, and the “journal” part of it, but it still isn’t flowing or simple, in that I can’t do it every day or even every week, because it takes time and thought. I find that it’s hard for me to synchronize text and visual images. I can’t think to myself, “oh I’ll write about X”, and then visualize it on paper. I can do either write, OR visualize. Do you know what I mean? Do you feel this way? I think maybe illustrators or artists can “draw” what they feel. I can’t. So what I do is make my pages, have fun with color and glue and clippings, and when the right time comes, I’ll add some writing. Or not. I’d be happy to hear your thoughts about this. Here’s an example of a page I did a few months ago. I really like it, but somehow I feel text is inappropriate, because the picture say enough. At least to me they do. 🙂

5 Responses to “Journaling”

  1. corinne Says:

    Looks cool my friend, I might give it a try as well one of these days!

    corinnexxx

  2. Hanna Says:

    COol pages, and yes I understand what you mean.. but I think that if you start adding random pictures and text together a bit faster (not thinking to much) you’ll notice that it kind of summs up in the end. I can’t really explain it well here, but to me it’s like the images I chose say something about ME right now AND about my DAY, so that makes it “journaling” too. DO you understand what I mean? 🙂

  3. Dawn Says:

    To add on to Hanna’s comment: that does work. If you just start adding stuff, it will come together. If you need some gentle nudging, I have been posting journal prompts on my blog…take a looksy!

  4. Karla D. Says:

    I am in LOVE with your ART! I cannot believe this….

  5. Irene Says:

    I always find the journal(l)ing the easy bit. Love these pages – they speak to me too.


Leave a Reply

