Eat, Pray, Love

July 10, 2007

I had read a lot about this book on Elise Blaha’s blog, and from Ali Edwards and Christine Kane as well, and it was just the type of book I knew I’d like even before I started.

At 30, Elizabeth Gilbert, the author, decided she didn’t like her life as it was, although many people would have thought it was perferct (the husband, the NY house, the money, the traveling). After a horrible divorce, she set off on a whole year of vacation to enjoy life.

The “Eat” part takes place in Italy, where she learns Italian, enjoys pure pleasure, and, well, eats! The “Pray” part is in India, where she stays in an Ashram, meditates and prays, and the “Love” part is about her 4 months in Bali, where she tried to find balance between pure earthly pleasures and spirituality.

But that’s just the story. What I enjoyed most were two things (of course I enjoyed the story immensely and I’m jealous as hell) – one was those parts where I just had to put the book down and literally laugh out loud. Her sense of humor is wonderful, and it’s liberating, because I could identify with her in many ways, and I think any woman would. Apart from that I also really enjoyed her sensitivity to language and culture. Actually, the book is about language and culture. Not only Italian, Indian, American and Indonesian cultures, but also masculine vs. feminine ones. I love the way she uses words, explains their definitions, thinks about them, about whether and how they’re significant, and also makes her characters use their own language. I can actually “hear” Richard from texas say “groceries”, I can “see” Tutti play with her blue tile, and oh, how I wish I could visit Kutut on his porch!

The other thing I really liked about the book was that although I’m really not spiritual, and I would normally want to skip all the meditation and yoga talk, somehow in this book she managed to get me engaged. I was really interested. I thought the processes she went through were fascinating, and I actually WANT to try meditation. I’ve never felt this “open” to spirituality as I did when I read this book.

So, what are you waiting for? read it! 🙂
Also, don’t be me – I ran off to her web page after reading just one book page. So yes, I got see pictures of all the people in the book, but I also got one really big spoiler. Don’t do it. Have patience. That’s what the book is all about! 🙂
eatpraylove.jpg

3 Responses to “Eat, Pray, Love”

  1. Regina Says:

    That sounds really inspirational and like something I would like to read. I have been obsessessed with reading the last week and am on my third book. Too bad I can’t buy it until I go back to the US…prices are extremely high here. Any good stuff collected lately?

  2. Zoe Says:

    I have seen this book around lately but had no idea what it was about. It sounds so interesting, definately next on my list!

  3. Rachael Says:

    Hi Hagit, thanks for your good wishes!

    “Eat, Pray, Love” sounds interesting, I’ll check it out on my next trip to the bookstore.

    Hope all is well with you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

